DCC Directors: Leading lights of the business world

The present directors of DCC, who had backed Jim Flavin to the hilt and claimed essentially that he and DCC and, by inference, themselves, did nothing wrong, are leading lights of the Irish business world.





DCC directors

(Pictured above in order, left to right, top to bottom) 

Jim Flavin, executive chairman (65),now retired, has himself enjoyed a distinguished career. Like many others on the board now and previously, he is a chartered accountant and was the founder of DCC in 1976. Prior to then he was head of Allied Irish Banks' venture capital unit. From 1999 to 2001 he was Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director of Eircom plc (Tony O'Reilly was chairman). He is a member of the International Development Board of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland.

Tony Barry (74), non-executive director, was Chairman of Cement Roadstone Holdings plc from 1994 to 2000, having previously been Chief Executive. He was a member of the Court of Directors of Bank of Ireland from 1993 to 2003 and was Deputy Governor from 1997 to 2000. He was Chairman of Greencore Group plc from 2001 to 2003 and is a past president of The Irish Business and Employers' Confederation. He joined the DCC Board in 1995.

Tommy Breen (49), executive director and chartered accountant, joined DCC in 1985, having worked with the accountancy firm KPMG for a number of years. He joined the DCC Board in 2000 just as the sale of the Fyffes shares was taking place. He was regarded as the likely successor to Jim Flavin.

Róisín Brennan (43), non-executive director, is Chief Executive of IBI Corporate Finance. She also served as a non-executive director of the Irish Takeover Panel during 2000/2001. She joined the DCC Board in 2005.

Michael Buckley (63), the new non-executive chairman of DCC, was Group Chief Executive of Allied Irish Banks plc from 2001 to 2005 having served as Managing Director of AIB Capital Markets and AIB Poland. Previously, he was Managing Director of the NCB Group and a senior public servant in the Department of Finance. He is a non-executive director of M&T Bank Corporation in the USA, is on the Advisory Board of Freeman and Co, a New York based M & A, advisory and consulting business, and is an advisor to a number of Irish and  international companies. He joined the Board in 2005 and is the Senior Independent Director. As such he is the most prominent defender of Jim Flavin.

Paddy Gallagher (68), non-executive director, retired as Head of Legal and Pensions Administration at Guinness Ireland Group in 2000. He has worked with Aer Lingus, and is a former Chairman of the Irish Association of Pension Funds. He is Chairman of the Trustees of the An Post Superannuation Schemes and of the Guinness Ireland Group Pension Scheme. He joined the DCC Board in 1976.

Maurice Keane (67), non-executive director was Chief Executive of Bank of Ireland from 1998 to 2002 and a member of the Court of Directors from 1983 to 2005. He is a Director of Axis Capital Holdings, is Chairman of the University College Dublin Foundation and is a member of the National Pension Reserve Fund Commission. He was Chairman of BUPA Ireland from 2002 up to April 2007 and Bristol & West plc from 2002 to 2005, having been a director from 1997. He joined the DCC Board in 2002.

Fergal O'Dwyer (48), a chartered accountant, joined DCC in 1989 having previously worked with KPMG in Johannesburg and Price Waterhouse in Dublin. He was appointed Chief Financial Officer in 1994. He joined the DCC Board in 2000, just as the Fyffes shares sale was happening.

Bernard Somers (59), non-executive director, a chartered accountant, is a nonexecutive director of Allied Irish Banks plc, Independent News and Media plc and Irish Continental Group plc. He is a former director of the Central Bank of Ireland. he joined the DCC Board in 2003.